The Austrian Vincent Kriechmayr has won the Lauberhorn downhill in Wengen with a time of 2:28:36 seconds. He was 0.14 seconds faster than the Swiss, and last year’s winner Beat Feuz, who reached the second place. Third, Aleksander Aamoldt Kilde from Norway (+0.26 seconds). As the best German Manuel Schmid (+1,81) drove to 18th place. Josef Ferstl (+2.54 mm) and Dominik Schwaiger (+2,63) made it to the ranks 28 and 29.

For Kriechmayr it was the fourth world Cup victory and first this season. For the Austrians it was the sixth victory in the new year. In Wengen you have achieved but no further Top-Ten placement: Matthias Mayer and co-favorite, Max Franz, Second in the downhill standings, crashed and retired. Directly after the American Steven Nyman took care of the next moment of Fright: At about 140 kilometers per hour, he lost control of the left, what brought him down – he remained, as Mayer and Franz, unharmed.

Heavy fall Kriechmayrs victory

overshadowed Particularly difficult for the Italians Emanuele Buzzi crashed: The number 25, which was launched Buzzi arrived first, surprisingly, on place six. In the target room, he could not brake in time and crashed into the boundary. He was transported by ambulance. The extent of the injury was initially unclear.

The approximately 4.5 kilometre long section of the Lauberhorn is the longest as well as the fastest downhill of the world Cup. The Frenchman Johan Clarey reached in 2013, with 161,9 km / h, the highest ever measured speed in the Alpine ski world Cup.


Sam Yoon has many years of experiences in journalism. He has covered such areas as information technology, science, sports and politics. Yoon can be reached at 82-2-6956-6698.