K-pop boy group BTS / Big Hit Entertainment

Boy group unveils 4th studio album

K-pop megastar BTS will drop its fourth studio album “Map of the Soul: 7” at 6 p.m. on February 21. Global fans of the boy group has anxiously waited for the new songs.

Some 12 hours before the official release, the seven-piece idol group unveiled a 30-second preview of its lead track “On” through video-sharing application TikTok.

As so many BTS fans flooded TikTok to watch the snippet, the Beijing-based platform crashed.

Since its debut in 2013, the septet has rocked the globe. Its loyal fan base, called ARMY (Adorable Representative M.C. for Youth), supports the group across the world.

Last April, BTS came up with its third studio album “Map of the Soul: Persona,” which attracted music fans across the world.

The boy group then had a stadium tour, including such cities as Los Angeles, Chicago, New York, Sao Paulo, London, and Paris.

The upcoming album will have a total of 20 tracks comprising 15 new ones.

Included in the track-list are “Interlude: Shadow,” “Black Swan,” “Filter,” “Inner Child,” “Moon,” “Respect,” and “Outro: Ego.”

On” has a digital version featuring Sia, an Australian singer-songwriter who is famous for such songs as “Chandelier.”

The number of pre-orders for the upcoming album has already topped 4 million this week across the world, which is also the biggest ever in the idol group’s seven-year history.

Kevin Chung studied literature in Seoul. He is interested in various areas. He can be reached at or 82-2-6956-6698.