Sven Hannawald is the last German to win the four-hills-tournament as the first ski jumper in history, he triumphed in 2001/2002 in all four competitions. This record he has to share since last year. In Poland the exception of Springer Kamil Stoch secured with four victories in the prestigious four hills tournament, for the second Time in a row. Now he is aiming even the title hat-Trick.

But the list of challengers is long. German athletes must not get her hopes up. Karl Geiger celebrated in mid-December in Engelberg, his first world Cup victory, and Olympic champion Andreas Wellinger belongs to the extended circle of favorites. Richard Friday, went last year as the world Cup leader at the Start and at the end of the Second was, is this year’s surprise an outsider.

When you first Jump in Oberstdorf on September 30. December but it is mainly to beat Ryoyu Kobayashi. The 22-Year-old leads the world Cup standings after four Wins, the scores and could be the first Japanese four-hills-tournament winner since Kazuyoshi Funaki (1997/1998). The final takes place on 6. January in Bischofshofen.

kick-off jump in Oberstdorf
, Great shadow mountain ski jump
qualification: 29.12. (16.30 clock, ZDF)
Competition: 30.12. (16.30 clock, ZDF)

new year’s jumping in Garmisch-Partenkirchen , Large Olympic ski jump
qualification: 31.12. (14 clock, ARD)
Competition: 01.12. (14 clock, ARD)

Bergisel jump in Innsbruck , the Bergisel ski jump
qualification: 03.01. (14 clock, ARD)
Competition: 04.01. (14 clock, ARD)

three king jumping in Bischofshofen , the Paul except Leitner hill
qualification: 05.01. (17 clock, ZDF)
Competition: 06.01. (17 clock, ZDF)

mode rules

Who has the most points wins the four hills tournament. It is irrelevant whether or how many of the athletes Jumping has gained during the tour. It counts only the total number of points after the four Jump.

The score is combined from the obtained Distance and the attitude of the points. In the ranking, is also, from which Gate it was jumped, if the start-up had to be extended during the competition or shortened. In addition, the jumpers can be deducted, depending on the wind conditions, points or credit (back wind brings extra points, because he pushes the knight to the bottom; for the ascendant of the Springer gets a deduction, because he holds the athletes longer in the air). Wind factor and the Gate play, it is only since of the four hills tournament 2010/2011 a role in the awarding of points. They were introduced in order to compensate for external influences in the best possible way and to enable a more objective competition.

unlike other ski jumping competitions, the four hills tournament in the K. o. will be played System. Normally, the first 30 competitors in the first to enter the passage in the second passage to each other. In the case of the four-hills-tournament and can qualify in the 50 Springer for the first pass, which go on to compete in 25 two groups against each other. The knight with the higher score wins the duel and moves directly into the second passage. The “Lucky Loser”rule can stay in addition to the five loser with the most points in the competition. In the second pass is a normal jump.

In the case of the four-hills-tournament and the qualification plays a big role. Because it decides not only on the participation in the actual Jump, but also about the person against whom the knight in the duel will compete and must win to stay in the competition. The First in the qualifying jumps against the 50., the Second against the 49. and so on. New this year: The Springer in the overall world Cup standings on the first ten places, are no longer as in the past, automatically for the competition. Also you need to qualify in the qualification for the competition.

The winner of the four hills tournament

in 1953, Josef Bradl (Austria)
in 1953-54, Olaf B. Bjørnstad (Norway)
1954/55 Hemmo Silvennoinen (Finland)
1955/56 Nikolai Kamensky (Soviet Union)
1956/57 Pentti Uotinen (Finland)
1957/58 Helmut Recknagel (GDR)
1958/59 Helmut Recknagel (GDR)

1959/60 Max Bolkart (FRG)
1960/61 Helmut Recknagel (GDR)

1961/62 Eino Kirjonen (Finland)
1962/63 Toralf Engan (Norway)
1963/64 Veikko Kankkonen (Finland)
1964/65 Torgeir Brandtzæg (Norway)
1965/66 Veikko Kankkonen (Finland)
1966/67 Bjørn Wirkola (Norway)
1967/68 Bjørn Wirkola (Norway)
1968/69 Bjørn Wirkola (Norway)
1969/70 Horst Queck (East Germany)
1970/71 Jiri Raska (Czechoslovakia)
1971/72 Ingolf Mork (Norway)
in 1972/73, Rainer Schmidt (GDR)
1973/74 Hans-Georg Aschenbach (DDR)
1974/75 Willi Pürstl (Austria)
1975/76 Jochen Danneberg (DDR)
in 1976/77, Jochen Danneberg (DDR)

in 1977/78 Kari Ylianttila (Finland)
in 1978-79, Pentti Kokkonen (Finland)
1979/80 Hubert Neuper (Austria)
1980/81 Hubert Neuper (Austria)
1981/82 Manfred Deckert (GDR)
1982/83 Matti Nykänen (Finland)
1983/84 Jens Weißflog (DDR)
1984/85 Jens Weißflog (DDR)
in 1985/86, Ernst Vettori (Austria)
in 1986/87, Ernst Vettori (Austria)
1987/88 Matti Nykänen (Finland)
in 1988/89, Risto Laakkonen (Finland)
in 1989/90, Dieter Thoma (FRG)
in 1990/91, Jens Weißflog (Germany)
1991/92 Toni Nieminen (Finland)
1992/93 Andreas Goldberger (Austria)
1993/94 Espen Bredesen (Norway)
in 1994/95, Andreas Goldberger (Austria)
1995/96 Jens Weißflog (Germany)
in 1996/97, Primoz Peterka (Slovenia)
1997/98 Kazuyoshi Funaki (Japan)
1998/99 Janne Ahonen (Finland)
1999/00 Andreas Widhölzl (Austria)
2000/01 Adam Malysz (Poland)
2001/02 Sven Hannawald (Germany)
2002/03 Janne Ahonen (Finland)
in 2003/04, Sigurd Pettersen (Norway)
2004/05 Janne Ahonen (Finland)
2005/06 Janne Ahonen (Finland) / Jakub Janda (Czech Republic) *
in 2006/07, Anders Jacobsen (Norway)
in 2007/08, Janne Ahonen (Finland)
2008/09 Wolfgang Loitzl (Austria)
2009/10 Andreas Kofler (Austria)
in 2010/11, Thomas Morgenstern (Austria)
2011/12 Gregor Schlierenzauer (Austria)
in 2012/13, Gregor Schlierenzauer (Austria)
2013/14, Thomas Diethart (Austria)
2014/15 Stefan Kraft (Austria)
2015/16 Peter Prevc (Slovenia)
2016/17 Kamil Stoch (Poland)
2017/18 Kamil Stoch (Poland)
* two winners due to a tie


Sam Yoon has many years of experiences in journalism. He has covered such areas as information technology, science, sports and politics. Yoon can be reached at 82-2-6956-6698.