Belgium is the first Hockey champion of the world. The Team of coach Shane McLeod defeated in the final crime novel from Bhubaneswar to shoot in India, the Netherlands 3:2 in the penalty. After the regular season, it 0 had been:0.

The decisive Penalty for the first major international title of the “Red lion” turned Florent van Aubel. Then Jeroen Hertzberger failed for the Dutch, who were in the penalty 2:0 shoot already in the lead. The Belgian, winner of the silver medal from Rio, had the selection of the German Hockey Federation in the quarter-finals with 2:1 defeated. The Team of national coach Stefan Kermas was the Fifth.

The Dutchman missed after her triumphs in the years 1973, 1990 and 1998, the fourth title that would have meant a tie with the record champion of Pakistan. Rank three had previously secured Australia with a 8:1 victory against England. For the “Kookaburras” was the bronze medal is a disappointment, they were aiming for a third world Cup title in the series.