u-box's new global marketing chief Markus Schaefer/Courtesy of u-box

Markus Schaefer vows to speed up growth of Swiss high-tech firm

u-blox has tapped Markus Schaefer as its new executive director for global marketing and sales, the wireless communication technology company said in a recent statement.

The Swiss outfit said that the advent of Schaefer, a veteran of the semiconductor industry with a solid track record, will complete its executive leadership team.

Markus Schaefer will define and implement the company’s sales and marketing strategy in the Americas, EMEA, and APAC sales regions,” u-blox said in the statement.

In addition to managing the company’s business expansion, he will be responsible for growing the sales channels, as well as for defining u-blox’s product marketing communication strategy.”

EMEA is Europe, Middle East, and Africa while APAC refers to Asia Pacific.

Schaefer studied electrical engineering at RWTH Aachen in Germany and got an MBA from Tiffin University in the United States.

He has led international sales teams at such high-tech companies as Infineon, NXP, and MACOM.

u-blox CEO Thomas Seiler put high hopes on the new global marketing chief.

We’re thrilled to have someone with such an impressive track record join our executive team,” he said.

Markus Schaefer is uniquely prepared to provide the industry insight, the competitive knowledge, and the sales know-how to capitalize on evolving customer opportunities to drive our sales strategy to the next level.”

The new marketing head, who joined u-blox on Sept. 1, vows to speed up the company’s growth.

In just over two decades, u-blox has positioned itself as a key player and leading innovator in positioning and wireless communication solutions,” he said.

I look forward to tapping into that momentum and working with the people across the company to continue to pursue and accelerate the growth path that the company is on.”

u-blox was founded in 1997. The Thalwil-based entity has offices in such countries as the U.S., Singapore, China, Korea, Taiwan, Japan, India, Pakistan, Australia, Ireland and Germany.